#RTCA2015 Recap: Mean Tweets and Award Winners

Crying, orange skin and a Back to the Future reference.

It may not be as glitzy, over-covered or dissected as that other correspondents’ dinner, but last night’s 2015 Radio & Television Correspondents Association Dinner [video] delivered with a BuzzFeed-like video. Courtesy of RTCA chair Frank Thorp (à la Jimmy Kimmel), members of congress read mean tweets about themselves. House Speaker John Boehner, House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and Sen. Bernie Sanders appear in the video good-naturedly taking, and reading, what the vox populi was dishing out.

Unsurprising: looks-based slams were common.



Surprising: the video, which you can watch below, even inspired an apology.

The major winners from the dinner included:

Joan Barone Award: Drew Griffin and the CNN investigative team (CNN)
David Bloom Award: Paul Wood (BBC)
RTCA Career Achievement Award: Bob Fuss (CBS)
Jerry Thompson Award: Wes Scruggs (NBC)