Ross Meunez, Prabal Gurung Among New Crop of Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation Winners

salvor scarf.jpg
A scarf designed by Ross Meneuz of Salvor Projects, who is among the recipients of the 2010 Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation Awards.

The new year is off to a very good start for the designers selected as the winners of the 2010 Ecco Domani Fashion Foundation (EDFF) awards. They’ll each receive $25,000 to fund presentations of their fall collections, which for the first time will be featured in an EDFF runway show next month at New York’s Bryant Park. In the women’s design category, the lucky lot are a mix of on fire up and comers (Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung), a design world darling (Ross Menuez of Salvor Projects), and promising eccentrics (Philippe Rollano and David Trujillo of The Blonds). The winners in the other categories demonstrate equally sharp-eyed selections by the teams of industry professionals convened as judges: Siki Inn (men’s design), Irina Arakas of Prova (accessory design), and John Patrick of Organic (sustainable design). Now in its ninth season, the EDFF has distributed more than $1 million in grants to winners that have included Zac Posen, Derek Lam, Laura and Kate Mulleavy of Rodarte, and Alexander Wang.

Previously on UnBeige:

  • Ecco Domani Announces 2009 Fashion Foundation Award Winners