It’s the end of the line for Pinterest’s Like button, which will be phased out “in the coming weeks,” giving the social network’s Save button—formerly the Pin It button—a more prominent role.
Writer and content strategist Kim O’Rourke bade farewell to the Like button in a blog post Friday, saying that Pins users have liked will be moved to a new, private board called Your Pinterest Likes, which can only be seen by the user who liked the Pins. Pins from that board can be moved to public boards should users desire.
There are lots of reasons why people like Pins on Pinterest. But because we have both a Save button and a Like button, it hasn’t always been clear how they’re different. After doing a bunch of research with Pinners, we found that Pinterest is easier to understand when we remove the Like button altogether.
The good thing about the Save button is that the ideas you save are easy to get back to later. Not only can you organize Pins to different boards, but you can search for them, too. And every time you save something, we get a clearer sense of what you’re into and can show you better ideas.
We know it’s hard to say goodbye to something that’s been a part of Pinterest for so long, and we appreciate you sticking with us as we keep making improvements.