(VIDEO) Pee Wee’s Playhouse, Laverne and Shirley, and Aretha Franklin Among the 2012 TV Land Award Winners

The red carpet was rolled out Saturday night for the TV Land Awards 10th anniversary celebration. Dozen of stars from TV, movies, and music made the trip to the Lexington Avenue Armory for the festivities.

Named this year’s Pop Culture Award winner, Pee Wee’s Playhouse, Paul Reubens was recognized for his alter ego Pee Wee Herman. The Saturday morning children show, Pee Wee’s Playhouse was a multiple Emmy winner during its five years on CBS. Reubens created the character and program at the Los Angeles improv troupe, the Groundlings. The TV show featured the late Phil Hartman, Lawrence Fishburne, and S. Epatha Merkerson, a future Emmy winner for her work on Law and Order.

Reubens tells FishbowlNY in the video clip that it was an easy transition making Pee Wee’s Playhouse children-themed.

More video clips after the jump

Murphy Brown, centered around a TV newsroom in Washington, D.C., drew many of its storylines from actual headlines. Show creator Diane English told FishbowlNY that the show was a perfect storm of great television.

“I think that the cast was so spectacular, and Candice Bergen in particular,” English says. “It was very well-written [and] very well directed.”

Watch the video clip with Grant Shaud, who played Miles Silverberg.

Another show that has stood the test of time is Fan Favorite winner, Laverne and Shirley. The Penny Marshall/Cindy Williams sitcom was created by Garry Marshall after the girls “visited” Fonzie on Happy Days. Katie Couric presented the ensemble with the award.

“We didn’t even know what a spinoff was,” Williams says. “…Penny and I honestly thought they’ll get four shows and we’ll be out of there. We’ll make some money.”

Instead, the misadventures of Laverne and Shirley survived on ABC for eight seasons. Watch the video below of co-star Michael McKean, who played Lenny, as he talks about his long friendship with fellow cast member David L. Lander (Squiggy).

The cast of One Day at a Time received the Innovator Award. Bonnie Franklin and her on-camera children Valerie Bertinelli and Mackenzie Phillips were in attendance, along with Pat Harrington, an Emmy winner for his role as building superintendent, Schneider.  One Day at a Time, developed by Norman Lear, was a Top Ten series for much of its nine-year run on CBS.

The Groundbreaking Award went to In Living Color. The popular sketch comedy series, created by brothers Keenan Ivory Wayans and Damon Wayans, aired from 1990 to 1994 on the fledgling Fox. The show launched the movie career of Jim Carrey.

Another series alum Tommy Davidson says it was the perfect time for the black-geared skits.

“I’m very happy because we did exactly what America needed—add a little color,” Davidson smiles.

The TV Land Awards also hand out a Music Icon trophy each year, and this time one of the biggest was honored–the great Aretha Franklin, presented by John Legend.

Recommended articles