NYT Graphics Dept., Francisco Costa Among ’09 National Design Award Winners

The John Maeda-chaired jury has spoken, and the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum today announced the winners of the 2009 National Design Awards, which gives you just over five months to figure out what you’ll wear to the October gala. Those in the know will be clad in Calvin Klein Collection, seeing as the label’s creative director for womenswear, Francisco Costa, is the winner of the National Design Award for fashion design. Costa is no stranger to the NDAs, having served as a juror last year. Meanwhile, in this, the awards’ tenth anniversary year, a new (tenth) category has been added: interaction design, recognizing “an individual or firm for the innovative design of digital technology.” The inaugural winner? Perceptive Pixel, the three-year-old company behind the “magic wall” displays that have become all the rage on networks such as CNN, Fox, and ABC. Here’s the full list of 2009 National Design Award winners and finalists:

Lifetime Achievement: Bill Moggridge

Design Mind: Amory B. Lovins

Corporate Achievement: Walker Art Center

  • Finalists: Dwell Magazine, Heath Ceramics
  • Architecture Design: SHoP Architects

  • Finalists: Architecture Research Office, Michael Maltzan
  • Communications Design: The New York Times Graphics Department

  • Finalists: Hoefler & Frere-Jones, Project Projects
  • Fashion Design: Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein Collection

  • Finalists: Thom Browne, Rodarte

  • Interaction Design: Perceptive Pixel

  • Finalists: Potion, Lisa Strausfeld
  • Interior Design: TsAO & McKOWN Architects

  • Finalists: Ali Tayar, Work AC
  • Landscape Design: Hood Design

  • Finalists: Andrea Cochran, Rios Clementi Hale Studios
  • Product Design: Boym Partners

  • Finalists: Salvor Projects, Smart Design

  • {"taxonomy":"","sortby":"","label":"","shouldShow":""}