NY Times Adding 20 Online Op-Ed Writers

Finally, some new blood.

The New York Times is tired of people poking fun at its homogenous and insipid op-ed section, so it’s boosting it by 20. Online, at least. The Times has added 20 new op-ed writers, who will contribute regularly to the Times’ online Opinion Pages.

Notable additions to the op-ed section include Sandeep Jauhar, Roxane Gay, Jennifer Weiner, Mimi Swartz and Héctor Tobar.

These writers (and the others) are guaranteed to breathe fresh air into the Times’ stagnant op-ed section. That means, suddenly, we might actually be interested in reading it. Mission accomplished, Times editorial page editor Andrew Rosenthal.

Below are the rest of the new additions.

  • William Baude
  • Brittany Bronson
  • Michael Eric Dyson
  • Richard A. Friedman
  • Adam Grant
  • David L. Kirp
  • Lydia Millet
  • Judith Shulevitz
  • Megan Stielstra 
  • Manil Suri 
  • Zeynep Tufekci
  • Peter Wehner 
  • Freddie Wilkinson 
  • Molly Worthen