NPF Awards Tonight

The National Press Foundation Awards dinner will be held at the Washington Hilton this evening.

2009 honorees include Charles Gibson of ABC News and recently-retired WaPo Exec. Editor Leonard Downie Jr.

Gibson will receive the Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism and Downie will be awarded the Benjamin C. Bradlee Editor of the Year Award. Coincidentally, Downie’s award is named in honor of his predecessor at WaPo.