WCBS/Channel 2 Takes Top Honor at New York Emmys; MSG and WNBC Lead Way in Trophies Won

WCBS' Lonnie Quinn and Chris Wragge accompanied by their new Emmys.

The best and brightest on the New York TV scene were on display last night at the 55th annual local Emmy Awards. FishbowlNY was on hand for the  four-hour awards ceremony at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square.

The biggest winner was MSG with 14 trophies, while WNBC/Channel 4 led all over-the-air outlets with 11 Emmys.

WCBS/Channel 2 took home the top prize of Best Evening Newscast–Over 35 Minutes–for its Hurricane Irene Aftermath. Anchors Maurice DuBois and Kristine Johnson were not there to accept their statuettes, but weathercaster Lonnie Quinn was in attendance.

Quinn already was selected Best On-Camera Weather Anchor, and colleague Chris Wragge was back at the podium as Best News Anchor. A one-time personal trainer, Wragge rushed back to Manhattan after competing in a Miami triathlon earlier in the day.

“This morning I knew my only shot of winning anything was coming to these Emmys,” Wragge deadpanned.

WABC cornered the market in the morning and daytime newscast categories. The on-air team of anchors Ken Rosato and Lori Stokes, meteorologist Bill Evans won for Eyewitness News This Morning and the noon broadcast following the Death of Osama bin Laden.

Telemundo WNJU/Channel 47 won the Best Newscast Under 35 Minutes.

More results from last night’s Emmys after the jump

WNBC photographer/editor Michael DelGuidice is the New York Emmys version of Walt Disney. A multiple winner on the night, he increases the career total to at least 58 Emmys.

Another person needing additional Emmy space is WNYW reporter Arnold Diaz, who also measures the trophies by the dozens. His Shame, Shame, Shame segment was recognized in the Investigative category.

WNBC/Channel 4 was selected for Best Breaking News for its coverage of Hurricane Irene, led by anchor Chuck Scarborough with reporters Tom Llamas, Katy Tur, and Jonathan Vigliotti.

Veteran WABC reporter Sarah Wallace won for the Continuing Coverage category.

WNBC reporter Chris Glorioso was named Hard News: Single Story winner, while WNYW/WWOR reporter Barbara Nevins Taylor was an award winner in the Journalistic Enterprise category.

WNBC’s Bruce Beck got the prize for Mike’d Up in the Sports Programming: Program Feature/Segment.

The YES Network celebrated when Derek Jeter cracked his 3,000th hit, and was rewarded with an Emmy last night. YES and the Yankees also won for the Best Live Sports Event: Series.

Steve Cangialosi was named Best Sports Anchor for his work as New Jersey Devils play-by-play man on MSG Plus. Cangialosi’s MSG teammate Al Trautwig won the hardware for Best Sports Writing on Knicks Basketball.

Ron Darling is an Emmy winner as a Mets analyst on SNY.

WNBC reporter Tracie Strahan got the Emmy for Best On-Camera Talent: Live Reporter.

WPIX’s Larry Mendte got the nod in the Commentator/Editorialist category.

Recommended articles