National Design Awards Announced, Not That We Were There


The 2005 National Design Awards were given out last night at some we’re sure fantastically fancy thing at the Cooper Hewitt. Winners are all listed here, but there are some highlights. Ceramicist Eva (no relation) Zeisel, 98, won for lifetime achievement. Katherine and Michael McCoy won the first ever Design Mind award, which seems to be because they teach a lot. Diller Scofidio + Renfro (‘sup, Charles) won for Architecture Design, while Stefan Sagmeister won for Communication. No surprises on either of those, unfortunately. The best award goes to Burt Rutan, who designed SpaceShipOne, “designed to take human passengers on the world’s first private manned mission to the edge of space.” Sweet.

We didn’t go, but we’re sure some of our illustrious readers must have. Send us your gossip.

PS. We’re still operating at 20% thanks to a bad case of the rickets. Be gentle with us.