Michael Kelly Award Finalists Named

From the release:

    Journalists writing for The Associated Press, Esquire, The Hartford Courant, Vanity Fair, and The Wall Street Journal have been selected as finalists for this year’s Michael Kelly Award.

    The award, now in its fourth year, is given annually to a journalist whose work exemplifies a quality that animated Michael Kelly’s own career: the fearless pursuit and expression of truth.

    The finalists will be recognized at an April 19 dinner in Washington at which the winner will be announced. The winner will receive $25,000; finalists receive $3,000.

    This year’s finalists are:

    Rukmini Maria Callimachi
    , The Associated Press, for coverage of the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans.

    C.J. Chivers
    for a reconstruction of the 2004 Beslan school siege written for Esquire.

    Jesse Hamilton, The Hartford Courant, for coverage of the Marines of Charlie Company.

    William Langewiesche, Vanity Fair, for reporting from Iraq.

    Charles Forelle, James Bandler, Mark Maremont, and Steve Stecklow, The Wall Street Journal, for a series exposing stock-option abuses.

    The finalists were selected from a total of 57 entries from journalists at U.S.-based newspapers and magazines. The award is for work published in 2006.

    The Michael Kelly Award was created by Atlantic Media Company Chairman David G. Bradley after Kelly’s death in 2003 while covering the war in Iraq. Kelly had been editor of two Atlantic Media publications, the Atlantic and National Journal.

    A panel of five journalists served as judges for this year’s award: Peter Canellos, Washington bureau chief, The Boston Globe; David Grann, staff writer, The New Yorker; Charles Green, editor, National Journal; Cullen Murphy; editor at large, Vanity Fair; and Margaret Talbot, staff writer, The New Yorker. Murphy, former managing editor of the Atlantic, recused himself from deliberations and voting regarding the Vanity Fair entry.

    Past winners of the award are Sharon LaFraniere, The New York Times; Nicholas D. Kristof, The New York Times; and Anthony Shadid, The Washington Post.

    For additional information about the Michael Kelly Award, visit www.kellyaward.com.

    Atlantic Media Company is a Washington, D.C.-based publishing company whose flagship properties include the Atlantic, National Journal, and Government Executive.