Major Changes at Tribune Publishing

Promotions, acquisitions, role changes and more.

The changes at Tribune Publishing just keep on coming. One week after CEO Jack Griffin departed the company, Tribune Publishing announced several more major moves. Take a deep breath now, because there’s a lot to get through.

Tribune chairman Michael Ferro, who owns the largest stake in Tribune Publishing, said he would donate his stake in the Chicago Sun-Times to a charitable trust in order to avoid any conflicts of interest.

As for organizational changes, Tribune Publishing is combining the duties of editor and publisher at its papers. New editors/publishers include Bruce Dold, Chicago Tribune; Howard Saltz, Sun Sentinel; Jeff Light, The San Diego Union-Tribune; Avido Khahaifa, Orlando Sentinel; Trif Alatzas, The Baltimore Sun; Andrew Julien, Hartford Courant; Dave Erdman, The Morning Call; Marisa Porto, Daily Press.

In more job related news, the company has named Tim Ryan president of publishing and Tony Hunter president of national revenue and strategic initiatives. Both will report to Tribune Publishing CEO Justin Dearborn.

Departures included CRO Michael Rooney and digital president Denise Warren.

Tribune Publishing has also acquired and plans to have LA Times editor/publisher Davan Maharaj oversee it. While we’re on the subject of websites, Tribune Publishing will offer free access to all of its digital properties to print subscribers.

Now that you know all of the changes, take some time to digest the information. Just be ready for more.