LA Film Festival Winners Announced

The LA Film Festival called it a wrap this Sunday after a great run. This Fishie was lucky enough to catch about 10 films over the course of the festival and has to hand it to the programmers, there wasn’t a dud among the lot.

At the conclusion of the festivities last night, the winners of the fest were announced. The Narrative Award went to Stéphane Lafleur for Familiar Ground.

Wish Me Away, the behind the scenes look at country singer Chely Wright’s coming out party, directed by Beverly Kopf and Bobbie Birleffi, took home The Documentary Award.

Attack the Block, which only screened once, at the same time, unfortunately, as Page One‘s debut screening–the one which David Carr attended–picked up the audience award for favorite narrative feature. No worries if you missed it like we did, the film is having a limited U.S. release in late July.

Full list of winners, via the press release, after the jump:

The award for Best Performance in the Narrative Competition went to Amber Sealey, Kent Osborne, Amanda Street, and Gabriel Diamond for their performances in Amber Sealey’s How to Cheat. Given to an actor or actors from an official selection in the Narrative Competition, this is the eighth year the award has been given at the Festival.

For the first time, the Los Angeles Film Festival awarded an unrestricted $5,000 cash prize to each short film category. The award for Best Narrative Short Film went to Saba Riazi’s The Wind Is Blowing on My Street. The award for Best Documentary Short Film went to Susan Koenen’s I Am a Girl!. Mikey Please’s The Eagleman Stag won the award for Best Animated Short Film.

The Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature went to Attack the Block, directed by Joe Cornish and the Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels of a Tribe Called Quest, directed by Michael Rapaport. Asif Kapadia’s Senna won the Audience Award for Best International Feature.

The Audience Award for Best Short Film went to Blind Date, directed by Joe Rosen. Can’t Shake This Feeling, directed by The General Assembly’s Adam Littke, Ryan McNeill, Adam Willis won the Audience Award for Best Music Video for Grum.