‘Kanye West, Please Stay Seated’

That’s my five-word acceptance speech, should I be fortunate enough to win a Webby Award. You’ll have to come up with your own.

webbyawards_md.pngBut you best get working on it now because the Webby Awards — created to honor innovation on the Internet — today kicked off their annual call for entries. As is now a famously famous tradition, winners must restrict their acceptance speeches to five words. The early entry deadline is Oct. 30.

“The Webby Awards give winners – from up-and-coming designers to marketing strategists to acclaimed actors and directors – a chance to shine in a global spotlight,” said David-Michel Davies. “We’re looking forward to honoring the innovators who are pushing the Internet forward in exciting new directions.”

Lucky winners will join past Webby honorees such as comedian and talk-show host Jimmy Fallon (“Thank God Conan got promoted.”), online publisher Ariana Huffington (“I didn’t kill newspapers, OK?”), Twitter co-founder Biz Stone (“Creativity is a renewable resource.”) and World Wide Web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee (“Free… open… Keep one Web.”) in broadcasting their speeches via the Webby Awards YouTube Channel, which has received 1.5 million video views to date.

Webby Awards organizers also announced the debut of three new categories:

Best Green award, honoring sites that “promote green living, business, tools and causes.”

Best Use of Social Media (Courtney Love, get that app in now; you’re a cinch to win this one)

Best Use of Online Media

Webbys traditionally have been awarded in categories that encompass web sites, interactive advertising, online film and video and mobile web sites.

The awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-person judging academy whose members include Vinton Cerf, R/GA’s Chief Bob Greenberg, Martha Stewart, “Simpson’s” creator Matt Groening, Arianna Huffington, and Biz Stone Co-Founder of Twitter. (Hey, those last two are ringers!)

Nominees will be announced next April, while the winners will be honored at a ceremony in New York on June 14, 2010.

Here’s a video (with overly ostentatious music) showing past speeches: