Jim Bohannon Wins The Hackes Award


At a ceremony last week, the Washington DC Area Chapter of the Radio – Television News Directors Association (RTNDA-DC) honored Jim Bohannon with its highest honor, the Hackes award.

From the release: “The award is presented annually in memory of Peter Hackes, a former NBC correspondent who was a founding board member of RTNDA – DC. He was one of the outstanding broadcasters of our times, and Jim Bohannon follows in his footsteps.”

“Jim Bohannon has been selected for his excellence, intelligence, wit, and professionalism on and off the air, and his tireless efforts to educate, inform, and improve the nation and the DC metropolitan area” says Connie Lawn, President of the DC Chapter of RTNDA. “He keeps millions of people informed, both on the radio and behind the scenes, through his broadcasts on Westwood One and WashingtonPost Radio. Bohannon volunteers to host many local events. He has broadcast on radio and television for 46 years, and worked in the Washington area for 35 years. We are honored he accepts this award.”

Previous Hackes Award Winners:

2005: I.J. Hudson, NBC4’s Technology Reporter
2004: Jim Farley, Vice President of News and Programming, WTOP radio
2003: Mike Freedman, Vice President of Communications – The George
Washington University
2002: Vito Maggiolo, CNN Assignment Editor
2001: Bob Hager, NBC-TV Correspondent
2000: Bill McCloskey, Bell South Director of Media Relations
1999: Paul Berry, (former) WJLA Anchor/Reporter
1998: Carole Simpson, ABC Correspondent
1997: Bob Ryan, WRC-TV Chief Meteorologist
1996: Ed Bliss, (retired) CBS Writer/Producer, American University
Professor Emeritus; Len Deibert, WMAL News Director
1995: Betty Cole Dukert, (retired) Meet the Press Executive Producer
1994: Lou Prato, RTNDA Treasurer