Jacqueline Gifford Named New Editor in Chief of Travel + Leisure

She replaces Nathan Lump at the helm

Jacqueline Gifford first joined the publication in 2013.
Headshot of Sara Jerde

Jacqueline Gifford, who was born in Japan and has lived in places as far-ranging as Saudi Arabia to Philadelphia, was today named the new editor-in-chief of Travel + Leisure.

Gifford replaces Nathan Lump who left the Meredith magazine brand title last month after holding the position for four years.

“I think we have a tremendous opportunity and it’s a fantastic brand that covers a topic that everybody loves,” Gifford said. “Who doesn’t want to talk about travel?”

Gifford, most recently, travel director at the brand, first joined the title in 2013. She will report to Stephen Orr, vp, group editorial director of Meredith.

“Jacqui’s proven record, immense talent and deep understanding of the brand make her perfectly suited to lead Travel + Leisure,” Orr said in a provided statement. “Beloved in the travel community, Jacqui has a unique background and passion for travel that will now inform the rich content and sophisticated perspective of this illustrious brand.”

Meredith acquired the title in the acquisition of Time Inc., and unlike other brands it inherited, Meredith has decided to keep Travel + Leisure under its portfolio of lifestyle, celebrity and entertainment brands.

Meredith claims the brand reaches more than 16 million in print and digital. Adweek has named the title as the hottest travel magazine every year since 2015.

Gifford said she’ll prioritize putting a diverse range of voices both online, and in the magazine (now 47 years old).

“The magazine is the foundation and where the brand started,” Gifford said. “I grew up my entire career in magazines and I still believe that when you pick up the magazine, it’s an escape.”

@SaraJerde sara.jerde@adweek.com Sara Jerde is publishing editor at Adweek, where she covers traditional and digital publishers’ business models. She also oversees political coverage ahead of the 2020 election.