How to Decode Nokia’s C,E,N,X Series Names

You probably know about Nokia’s flagship N-series smartphones. This includes the Symbian S60-based N97 and the first and last Maemo based smartphone, the N900. You may also be aware of E-series phones which tend to be designed for instant access to a QWERTY thumb keyboard for text/data as well as voice calls. But, there’s also an X-series and a new C-series. Here’s how Nokia describes their phone families.

Nokia naming conventions

C: Core range of products (low-end)
E: Productivity and business
N: Flagship advanced smartphones
X: Social & entertainment focus

The C and X series model numbers also indicates the level of functions and, for the most part, prices with 1 indicating the lowest function/price and 9 indicating the highest.