Hillman Prize Nominations Now Open

Submit away.

The Sidney Hillman Foundation has opened up nominations for the 2017 Hillman Prizes, which honor investigative journalism and commentary that serves the public interest.

All submissions — see the form here — must have been published or aired in 2016. It’s free to enter. Nominations must be in by Jan. 30, 2017.

Hillman Prize categories include Book (nonfiction), Newspaper Reporting, Magazine Reporting, Broadcast Journalism, Web Journalism and Opinion and Analysis Journalism.

All entries are judged by the following panel of journalists:  Ta-Nehisi Coates, national correspondent, The Atlantic; Jelani Cobb, professor, Columbia Journalism School and staff writer, The New Yorker; Alix Freedman, Global Editor, Ethics and Standards, Reuters; Hendrik Hertzberg, staff writer, The New Yorker; Harold Meyerson, executive editor, The American Prospect; and Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher, The Nation.

Winners of the 2017 Hillman Prizes will be announced in April of next year.