Here Are the Washington, D.C. Winners of the Regional Murrow Awards

Awards season continues.

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the regional winners of its Edward R. Murrow Awards, self-described as “recogniz[ing] the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.”

The 654 regional winners announced today will compete against each other in the national awards competition in May.

Here are the Washington winners from Region 12, which includes Washington, Delaware, Maryland and Virginia:

Large Market Radio

  • WTOP in Washington picked up the award for overall excellence and also checked off wins in the the feature reporting, sports reporting, writing and website categories.
  • WAMU won in the investigative reporting category as well as news series and hard news reporting categories.
  • WMAL in Washington received the award for best newscast.

Large Market Television

  • WRC in Washington won for overall excellence, as well as the newscast, continuing coverage, investigative reporting, news series and website categories.
  • WJLA in Washington won in the breaking news, news documentary, hard news reporting, sports reporting and writing categories.
  • WTTG won for feature reporting and use of video.

You can find the full list here.