Giving Thanks for the PRSA and The National Dog Show

Today we’d like to take a moment to give thanks for a few things we like: the PRSA, the many professionals whose hard work defines the public relations industry, and The National Dog Show. We mention them in the same sentence because they have something in common this year: John O’Hurley, veteran actor and TV presenter who we will always know as one Jacopo “J” Peterman.

Here he is discussing the show dogs’ “elevated sense of awareness”:

Coincidentally, Mr. O’Hurley also happened to host the 50th anniversary of the Los Angeles PRSA’s annual PRism awards last week at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

Details and pics after the jump.

There’s a reason O’Hurley headlined the event: he was a PR professional and PRSA member before turning actor/author/Family Feud host.


Friend of the site Erik Deutsch, Excel PR Group principal and president of PRSA-LA, started the show; here he is with O’Hurley presenting the President’s Award for the most awards won during the 2014 PRism Awards Show to DeAnn Marshall, Senior Vice President, Chief Development and Marketing Officer, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.

The Children’s Hospital won the award for the third year in a row for its pioneering work; this was one of eight trophies the organization took home.

Another friend of the site also received high honors: Howard Bragman, founder of Fifteen Minutes PR and, was named “PR Professional of the Year” for his work as “a nationally respected crisis counselor, civil rights activist and PR industry ambassador.”

PRSA LA Bragman

Here he is with presenter Michael Nyman, chairman and CEO of PMK*BNC, who co-founded Bragman Nyman Cafarelli in 1990.

Additional winners:

  • International agency Citizen Relations won “Best in Show” for its NYAD Swim for Relief campaign.
  • SpaceX won “PR Team of the Year” for casting the Los Angeles area as an aging star still ready to host the aerospace industry.
  • The CicLAVia won “Outstanding Achievement in Publicity” for convincing Angelenos to leave their cars in the garage.
  • NBCUniversal SVP of legal/government affairs Steve Nissen won “Outstanding Achievement in Public Affairs” for various efforts to promote the causes of diversity, intellectual property rights and corporate social responsibility.
  • Disney corporate comms VP David Jefferson accepted the award for “Corporate Citizen of the Year,” which honored The Walt Disney Company’s various philanthropic projects.
  • Denis Wolcott, founder/president of The Wolcott Company and past president of PRSA-LA, received the Joseph Roos Community Service Award.
  • Rich DeMuro, tech reporter for KTLA-TV, won “Outstanding News Professional” for his “fresh approach” to tech journalism despite never once appearing on The Soup.

Here’s a full list of the winners and here’s a clip of O’Hurley discussing something close to our hearts: rescue dogs.