Getting ‘Lost’ at an Eclectic Peabody Awards

The 68th annual Peabody awards today in New York featured a wide array of winners. The 36 awards went to everything from shows like Lost (pictured, Michael Emerson and writer Damon Lindelof) and Breaking Bad, to documentaries from ABC and NBC News.

There were also some notable wins by Web outlets, like YouTube and “I hear they’re considering producing a print edition of,” joked master of ceremonies Brian Williams.

Also accepting an award was Onion News Network EP Will Graham, who thanked the TV news members of the audience. “As long as you keep getting more and more ridiculous, we’ll keep following in your footsteps,” he said.

Saturday Night Live was well represented at the ceremony, with creator Lorne Michaels accepting an award, flanked by cast members Fred Armisen, Seth Meyers, Amy Poehler and Jason Sudeikis.

We talked to Armisen about portraying President Obama, the exposure the show got this year and more. We also asked about the show’s senior cast member, Darrell Hammond, who seemed to get an extra special goodbye at the finale Saturday night. Was it his last show? Armisen wouldn’t comment, and an NBC spokesperson tells us “we haven’t made any announcement”:

• TVNewser’s report on the Peabody awards, featuring video interviews with CNN’s Wolf Blitzer and PBS’ Gwen Ifill.