Facebook Told a Bunch of Its Users That They Were Dead

Activating false memorials

Apparently, 2016 is even worse than we thought.

A glitch briefly took over Facebook Friday, marking some users as dead.

Facebook has a system in place for when its users die to help loved ones mark their profile as no longer active. The account then acts as a memorial for friends to remember that person's life.

For a few minutes, Facebook, which has recently been accused of and denied accountability for proliferating fake news, carried on that tradition by pronouncing thousands of users dead.

Additionally, only dead users could view other apparently dead users while those still marked as alive could only see other users who were still kickin' it.

Not even Mark Zuckerberg was immune.

Was this a poorly timed bug from the website or an ill-fated advertisement for an upcoming horror movie? Facebook has yet to address the problem. What are the odds?

Here are a few other folks who took to Twitter to discuss their predicaments, though there's no word yet on how many people "died."

Facebook later released this statement:

"For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized profiles was mistakenly posted to other accounts. This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it."

Recommended articles