Facebook Messenger: Here’s How to Save New Photos and Videos to Your Device

By default, the pictures and clips you share aren't saved

By default, when you take a new picture or video in the Facebook Messenger application and send it to another user, the picture or video won’t be saved to your device. However, the app also allows you to turn on a setting that will cause these new photos and videos to be saved to your camera roll so you can easily access them again later on. Our guide will show you how to turn on this setting.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Messenger app on iOS.

Step 1: Tap the “Me” button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Note: If your app doesn’t have a “Me” button, you should be able to tap your profile picture in the top-left corner of the screen instead to go to the “Me” page.

Step 2: Scroll down and tap “Photos, Videos & Emoji.”

Step 3: Tap the toggle next to “Save to Camera Roll” to make Messenger save the new photos and videos you send in the app to your device. Note: The toggle will turn green to show this setting has been turned on.