Facebook Messenger: Here’s How to Hide Your Story From Specific Users

Here's what to do if you don't want a certain contact to view your content

Have you ever wanted to post content to your Story in the Facebook Messenger application but were afraid of a specific contact seeing it? Our guide will show you how to hide your Story from specific contacts so that they won’t be able to see your Story content in the Messenger app or on Facebook.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Messenger app on iOS.

Step 1: Tap the “Me” button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Note: If your app doesn’t have a “Me” button, you should be able to tap your profile picture in the top-left corner of the screen instead to go to the “Me” page.

Step 2: Scroll down and tap “Story.”

Note: If this is the first time you’ve tapped the “Story” button, you will see a pop-up telling you how the Stories feature works. Tap “Ok” on this pop-up to move on.

Step 3: Tap “Hide Story From.”

Step 4: Either scroll through your list of contacts to find the user(s) you want to hide your Story from, or tap the search bar at the top of the screen to search for users manually.

Step 5: When you find a user you want to hide your Story from, tap the circle next to their name. Your choice will be saved automatically.

Step 6 (optional): If you searched for a contact manually, tap “Done” in the top-right corner of the screen to return to your full contacts list, or tap the search bar to search for another user.

Step 6: When you’re done selecting users, tap “< Story” in the top-left corner of the screen to leave this menu.

Note: If you ever want to remove someone from your “hidden” list later on, follow Steps 1-3 above, and tap the red circle next to the user’s name to stop hiding your Story from them.