Facebook and McAfee Partner to Secure Users’ Accounts

Facebook and McAfee announced a partnership last night aimed at protecting the more than 350 million users of the social network from a barrage of security risks to their accounts.

One part of the partnership allows Facebook users to download a six month subscription to McAfee’s Internet Security Suite software for free, then gives them the opportunity to continue the service at a 30% discount after the six months are up.

In a blog entry, Facebook recommended users take advantage of the six month subscription; the post also supplied computer security tips and noted that the company has developed a “unique” process for re-securing compromised accounts. This process has incorporated McAfee software, asking users of compromised accounts to run a scan on their computers before regaining access to Facebook.

The software offer is located on the “Protect Your PC” tab on McAfee’s Facebook page.

After becoming a fan and selecting your country from a list on the Facebook page you are prompted to enter your credit card information to McAfee’s web site, although the site says your credit card won’t be charged for six months. Unless you cancel by calling a 1-800 number your subscription to the security subscription will be automatically renewed at the end of the six months.

McAfee was selected by to enter the partnership from among several security firms to be the “exclusive provider of consumer security software” for Facebook; the social network noted that it’s “applying all financial incentives from this partnership to the benefit of its users and will not be taking a share of any revenue from user subscriptions.”

McAfee’s software protects against viruses, spyware, spam, phishing and also includes a two-way firewall, identity protections and parental controls.

The offer will be available to Facebook users in mostly western countries, but also in parts of Latin America, including: U.S., U.K., Australia, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, France, Canada, Mexico, Brazil and additional countries are to be added in the upcoming months.

Recommended articles