Execs From Facebook, Microsoft and More Will Help Guide IAB’s Digital Video Center of Excellence

Mobile, programmatic will be areas of focus

To help guide the digital video industry, the Interactive Advertising Bureau today unveiled its first board of directors for the Digital Video Center of Excellence. The 29 members include representatives of companies ranging from tech leaders and programmatic platforms to broadcast and multi-channel networks.

"Digital video is a huge new market that is incredibly complex: long form, short form video, mobile, UGC (user generated content), etc. We need to establish a deeper understanding of the advertising opportunities, measurement, and effectiveness for all of these," said IAB svp of mobile and video Anna Bager. Bager is also the general manager of the IAB Mobile Marketing and the Digital Video Centers of Excellence.

Bager said the first board meeting is scheduled for next week, at which point they hope to set the goals for this year. Part of the plan includes focusing on mobile and programmatic video issues, as well as creating studies to help understand digital video viewers and what kind of creative works best for them.

The Digital Video Center of Excellence was created in November 2014 to help provide guidance for a rapidly growing segment of the industry. The division conducts digital video advertising case studies, research projects and highlights creative executions, with the goal of issuing best practices and creating technical standards for digital video, cross-screen and connected TV marketing.

Bager said the group would look into consumer media consumption behavior and perception, and also dive into buyer perceptions and spend. The team works hand-in-hand with The IAB Tech Lab, which facilitates all the organization's technical projects and will aid in creating international standards.

"It is fantastic that the IAB has this resource, giving us unique capabilities to drive the industry forward and minimize friction in the supply chain," she said.

Here are the first board members:

• Adam Berliant – Executive Producer, Video and Entertainment Programming, Microsoft

• Brian Boland – Vice President of Ads Product Marketing, Facebook

• Jonathan Carson – Chief Revenue Officer, Vevo

• Tal Chalozin – Chief Technology Officer and Co-Founder, Innovid

• Rahul Chopra – Chief Executive Officer, Storyful

• Kevin Conroy – Chief Strategy and Data Officer, and President, Enterprise Development for UCI, Univision

• Bill Day – Chief Executive Officer, Tremor

• Joe Dugan – Senior Vice President of Digital Sales, CNN

• Scott Ferber – Chairman and CEO, Videology

• Chad Gutstein – Chief Executive Officer, Machinima

• Jeremy Helfand – Vice President of Video Solutions, Adobe Systems

• Rebecca Howard – General Manager of Video, The New York Times

• Doug Knopper – Co-Founder and Co-CEO, FreeWheel

• Richard Kosinski – President, U.S., Unruly

• Ken Lagana – Senior Vice President of Sales, CBS Interactive

• Tim Mahlman – President and Founder, Vidible

• Marta Martinez – Global Head of Video Sales, AOL

• John McCarus – Chief Strategy Officer, LIN Digital

• Scot McLernon – Chief Revenue Officer, YuMe

• Erin McPherson – Chief Content Officer, Maker Studios

• Pooja Midha – Senior Vice President of Digital Ad Sales and Operations, ABC Television Network

• Peter Naylor – Senior Vice President of Advertising Sales, Hulu,

• Suzie Reider – Managing Director, Brand Solutions, YouTube/Google

• Guy Yalif – Vice President of Global Marketing, BrightRoll

• James Smith – Senior Vice President at Sony Pictures Entertainment Head of Digital Media Sales, Playstation and Crackle

• Jeremy Steinberg – Head of Sales, The Weather Company

• Dan Suratt – Executive Vice President, Digital Media and Business Development, A+E Networks

• Lisa Valentino – Senior Vice President of Digital Sales, Condé Nast

• Shereta Williams – President, Videa

Recommended articles