Education Writers Association Names 2009 Contest Winners

ewalogo03112010.jpgThe Education Writers Association has named the winners of its national education-writing contest. The association judged 334 entries. The group will announce who won its Fred M. Hechinger Grand Prize for Distinguished Education Reporting on May 15 at the Education Writers Association’s 63rd National Seminar in San Francisco.

Among New York publications to win the prize were:

The New York Times, for Charles McGrath’s work in the “Book Review”

• The Gotham Schools blog‘s Elizabeth Green, Philissa Cramer, Maura Walz and Anna Phillips

• The Times‘ Jennifer Medina for her coverage of New York City schools

Fast Company‘s Anya Kamenetz for her piece, “Who Needs Harvard?