Deadline Award Winners Announced

Some great work.

The New York chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists has announced the winners of its annual Deadline Awards. Below are the winners. Congrats to all.

The Daniel Pearl Award for Investigative Reporting

  • Esther Htusan, Margie Mason, Robin McDowell and Martha Mendoza, The Associated Press, “Seafood From Slaves”

Newspaper or Digital Beat Reporting

  • Ned Parker and Team, Reuters, Iraq Beat Reporting

Newspaper or Digital Feature Reporting

  • Ken Armstrong and T. Christian Miller, The Marshall Project with ProPublica, “An Unbelievable Story of Rape”

Newspaper or Digital Spot News Reporting

  • Staff, New York Daily News, “2nd & HELL: Blast levels E. Village buildings”

Newspaper or Digital Enterprise Reporting

  • Duff Wilson and John Shiffman, Reuters, “Helpless and Hooked”

Newspaper or Digital Local News Reporting

  • Rebecca D. O’Brien, Thomas E. Franklin, Tyson Trish and Michael V. Pettigano, The Record, “In Heroin’s Grip”

Reporting Newspaper with a Circulation Under 100,000

  • Paul D’Ambrosio, Susanne Cervenka and Shannon Mullen, Asbury Park Press, “Tax Crisis”

Reporting by Independent Digital Media

  • Azmat Khan, BuzzFeed News, “Ghost Students, Ghost Teachers, Ghost Schools”

Magazine Personal Service 

  • Kate Fagan, ESPN The Magazine, “Split Image”

Magazine Profile

  • Paul Tullis, The New York Times Magazine, “Jane Goodall Is Still Wild at Heart”

Magazine Investigative Reporting

  • Adam Matthews, Newsweek, “Toxic Fashion”

Magazine Feature Reporting

  • David Von Drehle with Jay Newton-Small and Maya Rhodan, TIME, “What It Takes to Forgive a Killer”

Headline Writing

  • Brian Hershberg, The Wall Street Journal, “A Swan Song for the Fed Dove Who Once Was a Hawk”

Arts Reporting

  • Peter Waldman and Golnar Montevalli, Bloomberg Businessweek, “The Greatest Museum Never Known”

Business Feature

  • Dave Jamieson, The Huffington Post, “The Life and Death of an Amazon Warehouse Temp”

Business Investigative Reporting

  • Esther Htusan, Margie Mason, Robin McDowell, and Martha Mendoza, The Associated Press, “Seafood From Slaves”

Opinion Writing 

  • Glenn Greenwald, The Intercept

Science, Technology, Medical or Environmental Reporting

  • Marshall Allen, Olga Pierce, Sisi Wei and Amanda Zamora, ProPublica, “Surgeon Scorecard”

Sports Reporting

  • Jim Baumbach, Newsday, “Hard Knocks: Helmets, concussions and Long Island high school football”

Spot News Photo

  • Darko Vojinovic, The Associated Press, “Fear at the Border”

Feature Photo

  • Thomas A. Ferrara, Newsday, “Dunia’s Smile”