D.C. Journos Win Cronkite Award

CNN, ABC, Politico, NewsChannel8 and ABC7 are all walking away with Walter Cronkite Awards for excellence in TV political journalism. Both ABC News Chief White House Correspondent Jonathan Karl and Global Affairs Correspondent Martha Raddatz are receiving top honors for their reporting during the 2011-12 election season.  CNN’s Tom Foreman and the networks Fact Check Team also won the award.

The Cronkite Award, administered by the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, recognizes distinguished work produced during the 2011-2012 election cycle.

Congratulations to all.

More on why they received the awards…According to a release, Politico, ABC7 and NewsChannel 8 team was “recognized for in-depth, incisive reporting and their innovative use of technology. The team was also praised for using a cross-platform approach.”

On Karl: His probing interviews of the presidential primary candidates were singled out by the judges as particularly effective, “getting candidates to relax, but never backing away from tough questions. He has a unique style of storytelling. He’s likable, yet unrelenting in getting the facts,” they said. He will be recognized in the “National Individual Achievement” category.

On Raddatz: She will receive a Special Commendation for Debate Moderation for conducting the debate between Vice President Joe Biden and Congressman Paul Ryan. According to the Norman Lear Center, judges praised Martha for being “an active moderator who struck the right balance between facilitating and shaping the debate. She posed excellent questions, asked for specifics and did her best to keep the candidates on point.”