Conan, MythBusters, The Dark Lord Among Shorty Award Winners

We had a blast covering the Shorty Awards last night. Hosted by Aasif Mandvi and featuring award presenters Keifer Sutherland, Jim Gaffigan, Jerry Stiller and more, it was a night to remember. Twitter aficionados, celebrities and newbies alike gathered to recognize the best 140 character content creators out there. We’ll take a look at some of the winners of this year’s Shorty Awards, and give you the highlights of the night.

Gathering at The TimesCenter In New York last night, Twitter lovers were able to use more than 140 characters to chat about what makes Twitter so great. The evening started off with a bang – an open bar, a beautiful venue, and lots of Twitter talk.

The Award show itself was pushed back a bit, as everyone was simply having too much fun mingling, but once it got underway the event really heated up. Aasif Mandvi (@aasif_mandvi) was at his hilarious best as the host, and the celebrity presenters paid homage to what they loved about Twitter during their bits.

There were plenty of deserving winners last night, including Neil Patrick Harris (@ActuallyNPH) for best actor on Twitter, The Dark Lord (@Lord_Voldemort7) for humor on Twitter, and The Young Turks (@TheYoungTurks) for news. You can see the full list of winners on the Shorty Blog – incidentally, this is a great list if you’re looking for interesting follows!

One of the highlights of the night had to be Conan O’Brien’s (@conanobrien) acceptance speech for the Lifetime Achievement Award. He sent in a video, and he flaunts the fact that by doing so he avoids the 140 character limit put on the other winners. The video is embedded at the end of this article.

Stay tuned for some more Shorty fun: we scored an interview with Aasif Mandvi about how he uses Twitter, and an exclusive live performance by Amanda Palmer which we will be uploading later today.