CNN iReport Launches CNN iReport Awards

User-generated news community CNN iReport announced the launch of the CNN iReport Awards, which will recognize the best user-submitted content of 2010, with winners to be announced March 15.

The iReport Awards will be divided into six categories: Breaking News, Original Reporting, Compelling Imagery (photos or video), Commentary, Personal Story, and Interview. A team of journalists and producers from CNN chose five nominees in each category from the total of more than 150,000 iReports received in 2010 from more than 740,000 iReporters around the world.

The panel that will select the final winners — other than the Community Choice winner, which will be voted on by iReport visitors — is made up of: CNN International anchor and correspondent Errol Barnett, ParentDish columnist Rachel Campos Duffy, CEO Ze Frank, StoryCorps founder Dave Isay, Pictory founder Laura Miner, Vice president and co-founder Shane Smith, and Next New Networks president and co-founder Tim Shey. Voting for the Community Choice winner is open until noon ET March 7.

Nominees will be featured on-air during the week of March 7 from 3 p.m.-5p.m. ET during CNN Newsroom with Brooke Baldwin, and on CNN International’s iReport for CNN, which airs Thursday, Feb. 17, at 11:30 p.m. ET and replays the following weekend. managing editor and vice president Meredith Artley said:

The collaborative relationship that we have with our iReporters is one of the unique strengths of CNN, and in many ways represents the future of storytelling. These awards are designed to celebrate those outstanding efforts. participation director Lila King added:

iReport Awards are a great way for CNN to recognize some of the outstanding work in the iReport community. Every day, iReporters share their stories with CNN, and it is an honor to be able to showcase and recognize them for the impact they make on the news.