Christopher Kane, Mary Katrantzou, Stella McCartney Nominated for British ‘Designer of the Year’

Fall 2012 looks from Christopher Kane, Mary Katrantzou, and Stella McCartney.

As London designers wait in the wings for their turn on the global fashion stage, the British Fashion Council has announced the nominees for this year’s British Fashion Awards, which will be presented at a ceremony on November 27. In another across-the-pond fashion news, Net-a-porter’s Natalie Massenet has just been appointed chairman of the British Fashion Council. She’ll replace departing chairman Harold Tillman on January 1. “My experience is in merging extraordinary creative content with innovative global commerce,” said Massenet, who will retain her position as executive chairman of Net-a-porter. “From January, together with Caroline Rush [CEO of the British Fashion Council] and her team, I aim to apply these lessons to my new role, a role I take incredibly seriously.” And now for those nominees:

Emerging Talent Award – Ready-to-wear: J.W. Anderson, Michael van der Ham, Simone Rocha

Emerging Talent Award – Accessories: Dominic Jones, Jordan Askill, Sophie Hulme

Emerging Talent Award – Menswear: Agi & Sam (Agi Mdumulla and Sam Cotton), Jonathan Saunders, Lou Dalton

Model: Cara Delevingne, David Gandy, Jourdan Dunn

Designer Brand: Alexander McQueen, Burberry, Mulberry, Stella McCartney

Menswear Designer: Kim Jones for Louis Vuitton, Oliver Spencer, Richard James

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Edward Enninful, Katie Grand, Louise Wilson

Red Carpet Award: Alessandra Rich, Roksanda Ilincic, Stella McCartney, Victoria Beckham

Accessory Designer: Katie Hillier, Nicholas Kirkwood, Philip Treacy

New Establishment Award: Erdem (Erdem Moralioglu), Jonathan Saunders, Meadham Kirchhoff (Edward Meadham and Benjamin Kirchhoff)

Designer of the Year: Christopher Kane, Mary Katrantzou, Stella McCartney