Misha Nonoo, Tim Coppens Among New Crop of CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Finalists

The Council of Fashion Designers of America and Vogue have announced the new crop of finalists for the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund initiative. Now in its tenth year, the program provides financial support and business mentorship for emerging designers. Among the past winners are Joseph Altuzarra, Alexander Wang,and Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler. The 2013 finalists are:
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School
Jason Jones and Mike Feldman, Parabellum
Juan Carlos Obando, Juan Carlos Obando
Marc Alary, Marc Alary
Misha Nonoo, Nonoo
Ryan Lobo and Ramon Martin, TOME
Shimon Ovadia and Ariel Ovadia, Ovadia & Sons
Tim Coppens, Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder, Todd Snyder
Veronica Swanson Beard and Veronica Miele Beard, Veronica Beard

The finalists were selected by a committee of fashion power players that includes Vogue‘s Anna Wintour, whose tireless championing of the initiative has resulted in similar prizes across the globe, and CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg. Over the next few weeks, the group will meet with each of the finalists to review their current collections and conduct in-depth interviews (with $300,000 up for grabs, there’s no pressure) before embarking on site visits to their design studios (again, no pressure). A design project with Uniqlo is in the works, and a Fashion Fund Finalists’ fashion show is planned for October is Los Angeles. The winner(s) will be announced in New York City on November 11.