Capitol Hill Celebrates National Seersucker Day

While yesterday was a grim day on Capitol Hill for some, many members had something to celebrate.

In honor of National Seersucker Day, Congressmen and women on both sides of the aisle donned their sharpest summer attire to celebrate the annual event.

While Capitol Hill celebration of the day was discontinued in 2012, Rep. Bill Cassidy (R-La.) vowed last month to bring it back.

Photo Credit: Paul Morigi, Getty Images

Top Row (left to right): Joe Barton, Renee Ellmers, Jim Cooper, Alan Lowenthal, John Barrow, Dina Titus, Blake Farenthold, Andy Barr, Joyce Beatty, Robert Pittenger, Martha Roby, Bobby Scott, Tom Petri, Vicky Hartzler, Joe Wilson, Eliot Engel

Bottom Row (left to right): Steve Womack, Emanuel Cleaver, Michelle Bachmann, Steve Cohen, Alcee Hastings, Bill Cassidy, Howard Coble, Terri Sewell, Shelley Moore Capito, Ileana Ros-Lehitinen, Janice Hahn

National Seersucker Day was originally conceived in 1996 by former United States Senator Trent Lott (R-MS) to pay hommage to the days prior to the 1950s when United States Government buildings lacked quite possibly the best invention ever – air conditioning. Seersucker – a lightweight, breathable cotton fabric – was popularized in the 1930s and through the 1950s could be seen in a variety of bright summer shades throughout the halls of Congress.

Recommended articles