Bill Moggridge Wins 2010 Prince Philip Design Prize

Design world visionary Bill Moggridge, who now serves as director of the Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, has won the 2010 Prince Philip Designers Prize. Established in 1959 as “the Duke of Edinburgh’s Prize for Elegant Design” and administered by Britain’s Design Council, the annual award aims to celebrate “how designers improve daily life by solving problems and turning ideas into commercially successful reality.” Recent winners include James Dyson, Terence Conran, and Norman Foster.

“His phenomenal success is emblematic of the industrial designer’s skill in visualizing and giving form to intangible data and human sensations,” noted the Royal Society of Arts in nominating Moggridge for the prize, Britain’s longest-running design honor. A jury chaired by Prince Philip selected the IDEO co-founder and designer of the first laptop computer based on the quality, originality, and commercial success of his work, as well as his overall contribution to the standing of design and to design education. Moggridge bested a shortlist of designers nominated by the U.K.’s leading professional art and design organizations and educational institutions. The other contenders for this year’s prize were fashion designers Vivienne Westwood and Christopher Bailey, architects Eva Jiricna and Zaha Hadid, automotive designer Adrian Newey, graphic designers Eva Jiricna and Neville Brody, and furniture designer John Makepeace. Westwood, Brody, and Makepeace received special commendations from the jury.

Bill Moggridge: 2010 Prince Philip Designers Prize winner from Design Council on Vimeo.