Atlantic Media Names Michael Kelly Award Finalists

Great work by great writers.

Atlantic Media has named the finalists for its annual Michael Kelly Award. The Kelly Award honors Michael Kelly, a former editor of The Atlantic and National Journal, who died while covering the Iraq war in 2003.

The following finalists were chosen because, according to Atlantic Media, they mirror the “courage, determination, and passion exemplified by Kelly.”

  • Martha Mendoza, Margie Mason, Robin McDowell and Esther Htusan of the Associated Press for “Seafood from Slaves.”
  • Alissa Rubin of The New York Times for her reporting on the treatment of women in Afghanistan.
  • Ian Urbina of The New York Times for “The Outlaw Ocean.”
  • James Verini of The Atavist Magazine for “The Doctor.”

The finalists—and the winner of the $25,000 first prize—will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on April 17.