American Society Of Journalists And Authors Prize Winners Announced

The winners of the American Society of Journalists and Authors’ 2008 Writing Awards have been announced. They include Maggie Goldsmith of O, The Oprah Magazine, Todd Pitock of Discover and Katherine Eban of Vanity Fair.

Full release after the jump.


New York, NY — The American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) announced the recipients of its annual writing awards, honoring the outstanding non-fiction work produced on a freelance basis during the past year.

“Quality journalism is part of the bedrock of a strong society,” said Russell Wild, ASJA president. “ASJA is committed to quality journalism and our long-standing awards program is part of that commitment. This year’s winners should be very proud to add to this tradition and we hope that they continue to excel for many years to come.”

The awards will be presented on April 11 during the 37th annual ASJA Writers Conference, which is being held in New York City, April 11-13. ASJA is the national organization for nonfiction freelance writers. Founded in 1948, its more than 1200 members have each met exacting standards for professional achievement.

Winners of 2008 ASJA Writing Awards:

First Person, Essay, or Personal Experience Article:

Margie Goldsmith

“The Sense of Being Stared At,” O, The Oprah Magazine, July 2007

Service Article:

Bob Cooper

“Road Tested,” Runner’s World, July 2007


Michelle Nijhuis

“Of Murder and Microscopes,” Sierra, May/June 2007

Trade Article:

Michael Fitzgerald

“L0pht in Transition,” CSO, April 2007

Reporting on a Significant Topic:

Todd Pitock

“Science and Islam,” Discover, July 2007

Donald Robinson Memorial Award for Investigative Journalism:

Katherine Eban

“The War on Terror: Rorschach and Awe,”, July 17, 2007

June Roth Memorial Award for Medical Journalism:

Richard Laliberte

“Doctor Where Art Thou,” Prevention, May 2007

The Arlene Award for Article That Makes a Difference:

Christie Aschwanden

“Through the Forest, A Clearer View of the Needs of A People,” New York Times, September 18, 2007

Service/Self-Help/Collaborative Book:

Wendy Lyons Sunshine

The Connected Child, McGraw-Hill, 2007

The ASJA Founders’ Award for Career Achievement will be given posthumously to Sarah Wernick, a writer who specialized in health and family issues. Her articles appeared in Woman’s Day, Parents, Redbook, The New York Times and many other publications. Sarah, who had a doctorate from Columbia University, wrote three bestsellers with Tufts University exercise physiologist Miriam Nelson: Strong Women Stay Young (1997); Strong Women Stay Slim (1998) and Strong Women, Strong Bones (2000). The Probiotic Revolution , co-authored with Gary Huffnagle was published in 2007. She died of cancer in November.