Altuzarra, Cushnie et Ochs, Ohne Titel Among New Crop of CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Finalists

From left, looks from the fall 2011 collections of Altuzarra, Cushnie et Ochs, and Ohne Titel.

Vive la mode! The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and Vogue chose Bastille Day to announce the new crop of finalists for the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund initiative. Now in its eighth year, the program provides financial support and business mentorship for emerging designers. Among the past winners are Alexander Wang, Doo-Ri Chung of Doo.Ri, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez of Proenza Schouler, and Sophie Theallet. The 2011 finalists are:

  • A.A. – Antonio Azzuolo
  • Altuzarra – Joseph Altuzarra
  • Carlos Campos – Carlos Campos
  • Creatures of the Wind – Shane Gabier and Chris Peters
  • Cushnie et Ochs – Michelle Ochs and Carly Cushnie
  • Finn Jewelry – Soraya Silchenstedt
  • Fenton / Fallon – Dana Lorenz
  • Ohne Titel – Alexa Adams and Flora Gill
  • Pamela Love Jewelry – Pamela Love
  • Suno – Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty

    “The demands on designers seem to grow greater and greater by the minute, so the aim of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, to nurture and support America’s emerging fashion talents, has become more important than ever,” said Vogue‘s Anna Wintour, whose tireless championing of the initiative has resulted in similar prizes across the globe. “I very much look forward to seeing what they have to offer—and how they will contribute to the future of American fashion.”

    The finalists were selected by a committee of ten fashion power players that includes Wintour, Hernandez and McCollough, designer Reed Krakoff, CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg. Later this month, the group will meet with each of the finalists to review their current collections and conduct in-depth interviews (with $300,000 up for grabs, there’s no pressure) before embarking on site visits to their design studios (again, no pressure). A design project with L’oréal Paris is in the works, and a Fashion Fund Finalists’ fashion show is planned for October is Los Angeles. The winner(s) will be announced in New York City on November 14.