At the Walter Cronkite Awards, Honorees Discuss When Journalists Should and Shouldn't Be Neutral

Jorge Ramos, Jake Tapper, Katy Tur and Brian Stelter talk with Marty Kaplan

Enemies of the People? was the name of the panel convened at the 2017 Walter Cronkite Awards ceremony this afternoon, held at the National Press Club. Taking on the root and aim of that idea, as well as questions on media neutrality, trust and fake news were this year’s national individual achievement award winners, Univision’s Jorge Ramos, CNN’s Jake Tapper, NBC’s Katy Tur and Brian Stelter, whose Sunday program Reliable Sources received the national network program prize. Marty Kaplan, USC Annenberg professor and director of its Lear Center, moderated.