TV, Print Jurists Set for Clio Awards

NEW YORK The Clio Awards has rounded out the 2005 television and print juries for its 46th annual advertising competition.

“We have selected a group of proven creative minds for Clio’s 2005 juries,” said Ami Brophy, executive director of the International Clio Awards. “Their point of view is diverse and global, representing a wide array of cultures. The work that emerges will be the most innovative and awe-inspiring—guaranteed!”

The final judging for the Clio Awards will take place for print on April 2-9 and for TV on April 9-16 in Santa Fe, N.M. The winners will be announced at the 46th annual Clio Awards Festival at the Ritz-Carlton in Miami’s South Beach, May 21-24, 2005.

Among those on the 15-person TV jury, led by Mark Tutssel, vice chairman and regional creative director of Leo Burnett, Chicago, are Bil Bruce, ecd, BBDO, New York; Charles Inge, ecd, Clemmow Hornby Inge, London; and Elspeth Lynn, partner and creative director, Zig, Toronto. Other TV jurists are Chavo D’Emilio, general creative director, Del Campo Nazca Saatchi & Saatchi, Buenos Aires, Argentina; David Nobay, creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi, Sydney, Australia; Sergio Valente, ecd, DM9DDB, Sao Paulo, Brazil; Christian Vince, president, Agence V, Paris; Peter Roemmelt, creative director, Ogilvy & Mather, Frankfurt, Germany; Prasoon Joshi, national creative director, evp, McCann Erickson India, Mumbai, India; Federica Ariagno, creative director, McCann-Erickson Italiana, Milan, Italy; Yoshimitsu Sawamoto, creative director, Dentsu, Tokyo; Eduardo Perez Contrer, director, S2 Mexico, Mexico City; Michael Jansen, freelance creative director, Amsterdam, the Netherlands; and Pinit Chantaprateep, ecd, J. Walter Thompson, Bangkok, Thailand.

On the 16-person print jury, headed by print jury executive chair Tham Khai Meng, regional executive creative director of Ogilvy & Mather Asia Pacific, are Sarah Barclay, creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi, New York; Alan Russell, CCO, DDB Canada, Vancouver; and Jeremy Craigen, deputy creative director, DDB, London. Also on board are Juan Manuel “Papon” Ricciarelli, creative director, BBDO Argentina, Buenos Aires; Jens Mortier, creative director, mortierbrigade, Brussels, Belgium; Eduardo Lima, creative director, F/Nazca Saatchi & Saatchi, Sao Paulo, Brazil; Eddie Wong, creative director, TBWA, Shanghai, China; Jan Leube, creative director, Scholz & Friends, Berlin; Kazuto Fukushima, creative director, Hakuhodo, Tokyo; Gavin Simpson, creative director, DY&R, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Tony Talbot, creative director, Colenso BBDO, Auckland, New Zealand; Wendy Moorcroft, creative director, J. Walter Thompson, Cape Town, South Africa; Antonio Montero Lopez, general creative director, Contrapunto, Madrid, Spain; and Frank Bodin, creative director, Euro RSCG Switzerland/Eurad AG, Zurich.

The awards show, owned by Adweek Magazines parent VNU, last month finalized the executive juries. The content and contact executive jury chair is Ty Montague, co-president and executive creative director at J. Walter Thompson in New York, and Fredrik Bond, director at MJZ in London, will chair the technique jury. Julie Lasky, editor-in-chief of I.D. magazine in New York, will oversee the design jury, and Colleen DeCourcy, global executive creative director of Organic in Toronto, Canada, will chair the Internet panel. Austin Howe, president and creative director of Radioland in Portland, Ore., will serve as the first radio jury executive chairman.