Cannes Film Jury: All Screens Welcome

NEW YORK The Cannes Film jury this year will consider spots made for screens other than TV and cinema, such as the Internet, mobile and branded content, the organization said on Monday.

Bob Scarpelli, jury president of the Film and Press Lions and chairman and CCO at DDB Worldwide, urged that such a change be made last year.

This year’s roster of jurors, led by Craig Davis, JWT’s worldwide CCO, was released. The full list:

U.K.: Ben Walker, cd, Wieden & Kennedy; Craig Davis, CCO, worldwide, JWT (jury president); Argentina: Joaquin Molla, ecd, la comunidad; Australia: Ted Horton, partner, Big Red; Belgium: Jens Mortier, cd, mortierbrigade; Brazil: Eduardo Lima, cd, F/Nazca Saatchi & Saatchi; Canada: Aaron Starkman, cd, Zig; Denmark: Per Pedersen, cd, Uncle Grey; France: Alexandre Herve, ecd, DDB; Germany: Lars Ruehmann, CCO, Nordpol+Hamburg; India: Sonal Dabral, chairman, India, and regional ecd, Bates; Italy: Fabrizio Russo, CCO, TBWA Italia; Japan: Masahiko Ishii, ecd, Hakuhodo; Mexico: Jose Beker, CEO, cd, Euro RSCG Beker; New Zealand: Toby Talbot, ecd,, DDB New Zealand; Norway: Janne Brenda Lysoe, cd, McCann Norway; South Africa: Paul Warner, ecd, MetropolitanRepublic; Spain: Marcelo Vergara, CCO, Publicis Spain; Sweden: Hakan Engler, ecd, Lowe Brindfors; Thailand, Nopadol Srikieatikajohn, ecd, Ogilvy & Mather; the Netherlands: Aad Kuijper, cd, Alfred International; and USA: Susan Credle, ecd, BBDO.
Last year, Dove’s “Evolution” from Ogilvy & Mather, Toronto, took top honors in both the Film and Cyber categories, the first time a spot has won both simultaneously. “Evolution” began as an Internet viral video before being shown a limited number of times on television in order to qualify for the competition.
Before last year’s competition, Scarpelli pressed jury members to consider spots made for the Internet in the Film category. The change in policy represents a validation of his view.