Cannes Ad Festival Impanels U.S. Jurists

NEW YORK Thirteen U.S. ad executives are serving on juries for the International Advertising Festival at Cannes, the organization said today.

Linda Kaplan Thaler, CEO and chief creative officer of The Kaplan Thaler Group in New York, and Gary Goldsmith, chairman and CCO of Lowe in New York, will serve on the film jury, which is presided over by Piyush Pandey, executive chairman and national creative director of Ogilvy & Mather in India.

Kevin Roddy, partner and executive creative director of Euro RSCG MVBMS Partners in New York, will be a member of the press and outdoor jury, which Pandey also presides over.

Joe Uva, president and CEO of OMD Worldwide in New York, will serve on the media Lions panel. That panel is led by Alexander Schmidt-Vogel, CEO of MediaCom in Dusseldorf, Germany.

In addition to cyber jury president Bob Greenberg, chairman, CEO and CCO of R/GA in New York, U.S. cyber jurors include Kevin Flatt, interactive creative director at Fallon in Minneapolis, and Sasha Kurtz, creative director at Dotglu in New York.

On the home jury for Lions direct, which will cull the direct entries into a shortlist, are Joel Sobelson, evp and CCO of Wunderman in New York; Holly Pavlika, evp and executive creative officer of Grey Direct in New York; and Heather Higgins, evp and executive creative officer of FCBi in New York.

On the jury that will judge the shortlist of Lions direct entries at Cannes, U.S. judges include Howard Draft, chairman and CEO of Draft in Chicago and Lions direct jury president; Richard Eber, evp, CCO of MRM Partners in New York; and Steve Lynch, evp, executive creative director of Digitas in Boston.

In addition, three client representatives will serve on the media Lions jury for the first time: Scott Berg, worldwide media director of Hewlett-Packard; Nils Larsson, marketing director of Ikea in Sweden; and Bernard Balderston, associate director of U.K. media for Procter & Gamble.

Direct marketing and media Lion winners will be named on June 22 in Cannes; outdoor, press and interactive Lion winners will be honored on June 23; and film Lion winners will be named on June 26.

A complete list of jurors can be found at