AKQA Picks Its 5 Winners for the 2013 Future Lions

See their forward-looking ideas

CANNES, France—Student teams from the U.S., U.K., Japan and Germany picked up Future Lions from AKQA at the Cannes Lions festival here today.

You can see all the winners below. The Future Lions celebrate forward-thinking ideas for brands without media, technology or audience constraints.

"Future Lions, in its eighth year, has yet again showcased five incredible ideas that inspire and impress," said James Hilton, co-founder and chief creative officer of AKQA. "Throughout all the entries submitted, we saw a clear desire to provide tangible benefit to the audience. By applying technology and creative thinking to a range of problems, Future Lions 2013 winners have demonstrated the power and impact brands can have when they make people's lives better."

"I've been blown away by standard of the finalists for this year's Future Lions," added Andrew Diprose, art director at Wired, a Future Lions partner.

Diprose also gave out the School of the Year trophy, recognizing the individual school with the greatest number of shortlisted finalists—which was Miami Ad School Europe in Hamburg, Germany, for the third straight year.

This year's entries were judged by AKQA's Creative Council: Brendan DiBona, Duan Evans, James Hilton, Johan Vakidis, Nick Turner and Rei Inamoto, as well as other guest judges.

Here are the five winners:

"Awaken by Amazon"

Konomi Tashiro of Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tatsuki Tatara, Kenji Shimo and Taichi Nihei of Keio University, and Tomoki Hayashida of Waseda University, all in Japan.


Alexander Norling and Sara Uhelski of Miami Ad School in San Francisco.

"The Pebble: Sense Danger"

Thomas Bender and Thomas Corcoran of School of Communication Arts 2.0 in the U.K.


Alejandro Ladeveze and Caroline Escobar of Miami Ad School in Hamburg, Germany.

"IBM Project Accel"

Jarrett Jamison and Verenice Lopez of The Creative Circus in the U.S.

Recommended articles