AKQA Honors 5 Student Teams With Future Lions

Contest gathers forward-looking ideas for brands

CANNES, France—One student already won a Grand Prix at the 2012 Cannes Lions festival here. Today, 10 more students were honored through the more traditional route of the Future Lions competition, presented by AKQA.

Future Lions recognizes student work with an emphasis on forward-looking ideas for brands without media, technology or audience constraints. Check out the case studies from the five winning teams below.

Miami Ad School Europe in Hamburg, Gemany, was named school of the year after fielding the most shortlisted finalists in the competition, which drew more than 1,100 entries.

AKQA co-founder and chairman Ajaz Ahmed and chief creative officer Rei Inamoto presented the awards at a ceremony inside the Palais des Festivals on Friday afternoon.

  1. Patrik Beskow and David Lunde

    "Made by Waves"

    Brand: Quicksilver

    School: Berghs School of Communication

  2. Lisa Zeitlhuber and Nicholas Partyka

    "Penguin Soundtracks"

    Brand: Penguin

    School: Miami Ad School Hamburg

  3. Florian Weitzel and Yvonne Truun

    "Blackout Recorder"

    Brand: German Wasted Youth

    School: Miami Ad School Berlin

  4. Chris Sheldon and Marybeth Ledesma

    "Bing Automatic"

    Microsoft Bing

    School: VCU Brandcenter

  5. Kristofer Salsborn and Rickard Beskow

    "Post from Japan"

    Brand: Quiksilver

    School: Berghs School of Communication

The Future Lions 2012 poster:

 For complete coverage of Cannes Lions 2012,

visit adweek.com/cannes.

Recommended articles