Adweek’s Watch Awards Winners: the Year’s Best in Online Video, From the Hilarious to the Heartfelt

Top talent, production and programming

The winners of Adweek's second annual Watch Awards, honoring the best in online video, were culled from hundreds of entries. Filmmakers, actors, activists and comedians are creating a universe of content that encompasses everything between hilarious and heartfelt. And these winners—ranging from R/GA and the Ad Council's powerful PSA about equality and prejudice to E! funnyman Joel McHale's skewering of pop culture—represent the impressive and diverse variety of video out there.

Congratulations to all this year's winners, and many thanks to our panel of judges: Mike Farah, Funny or Die (jury chair); Joseph Assad, PMK•BNC/Vowel; Ryan Copple, Geek & Sundry; Leigh Davenport, HB Studios/Interactive One; Amy Emmerich, Refinery29; Mark Fortner, Mediacom USA; Jason Kint, Digital Content Next; Michael Klein, Condé Nast Entertainment; David Lang, Mindshare Entertainment; Alfred Maskeroni, Adweek; John Maxham, DDB Chicago; Gannon Mooney, Essence; David Neyman, Popsugar Studios; Shahrzad Rafati, BroadbandTV; Bill Reilly, Picrow; Tennille Teague, Pereira & O'Dell New York; Cheryl Van Ooyen, mcgarrybowen; Yale Wang, DramaFever; and Robby Wells, United Entertainment Group.

Read more about (and watch) all of the winners below:

16 Programming Winners

Programming Spotlight: R/GA's Soaring, Viral PSA About Love

6 Talent Winners

Talent Spotlight: Joel McHale, Indefatigable Host of The Soup 

9 Production Winners 

Production Spotlight: Tinder's Tale of Modern, Globe-Trekking Love

This story first appeared in the Aug. 17 issue of Adweek magazine. Click here to subscribe.

Recommended articles