ADC Names Granger Chair of 86th Awards

NEW YORK Saatchi & Saatchi CCO Tony Granger has been named Advertising chairman of the 86th annual Art Directors Club awards competition.

Rei Inamoto, global creative director, AKQA, will chair Interactive.

Rebecca Mendez, principal at Rebecca Mendez Design, and Adam Eeuwens, creative director of 34 magazine, will co-chair the Design division.

“We chose these creative ‘rock stars’ as jurists because they lead the industry, and our charge to them, as always, will be to choose winners whose work pushes the envelope,” said ADC executive director Myrna Davis in a statement.

The chairs, in addition to selecting jury members, will also judge a Hybrid category that focuses on nontraditional use of media. The highest rated Hybrid winner also wins Yahoo’s “Big Idea Chair.” Last year ‘Goo,’ for search engine by Ground, a division of Dentsu, won.

Last year, the Advertising category was chaired by Kevin Roddy, executive creative director at BBH, Interactive by Matt Freeman, worldwide CEO at Tribal DDB, and Graphic Design by Brian Collins, chairman and chief creative officer of the brand innovation group at Ogilvy & Mather.

Winners of the awards will be announced in the spring, with the ceremony taking place at the ADC Gallery in New York in late May.