The 2012 Jay Chiat Awards for Strategic Excellence

Adweek presents a slideshow of this year’s Gold Winners

Headshot of James Cooper

Previously called the 4A’s Awards for Account Planning, the awards were renamed in 2004 in honor of advertising legend Jay Chiat, who is credited with introducing the discipline of planning to the United States. In 2007, the awards began to accept international entries in an international category. In 2010, all categories were opened to international entries.

The awards are presented in recognition of planners who have developed strong and innovative insights, and seen their work evolve through creative that affects both the consumer and the business.

The Grand Prix, Gold, Silver and Bronze winners receive an award in the shape of a building block, symbolizing the discipline of planning as it relates to the advertising process. Gold, Silver and Bronze winners each receive a wood statuette; the Grand Prix award is created in stone. 

Here is a slideshow of the 10 Gold winners across seven categories.

For a full list of winners, click here.

@jcoopernyc James Cooper is editorial director of Adweek.