The Ad Council Appoints 18 New Members to its Board of Directors

By Kyle O'Brien 

The Ad Council has elected 18 new members to its board of directors, which is chaired by Verizon CMO Diego Scotti. In addition to the new board members, the non-profit elevated Rita Ferro, president, global advertising, Disney, and Kirk McDonald, CEO of North America at GroupM, to the roles of vice chair.

The Ad Council board of directors is comprised of a group of senior marketing, media and business executives from brands and agencies who provide expertise, insights and financial support to ensure the Ad Council’s social impact campaigns are effective and drive change. Working in close collaboration with the Ad Council’s leadership, the board helps spearhead the communications industry’s efforts to address critical issues such as gun violence, mental health, the drug overdose epidemic and racial justice.

New members of the Ad Council Board of Directors include:

  • Brad Blum, chief operating officer, WWE
  • Christine Cook, global chief revenue officer, Bloomberg
  • Greg Glenday, chief business officer, Acast
  • Patrick Harris, president of Americas and partnerships, Snap
  • Michael Komasinski, CEO, dentsu Americas
  • Ryanne Laredo, svp of customer experience, Nielsen
  • Ryan Linder, evp and global chief marketing officer, Stagwell
  • Mark Marshall, chairman, global advertising and partnerships, NBCU
  • Johanna Mayer-Jones, global chief advertising officer, The Washington Post
  • Nicola Mendelsohn, head of global business group, Meta
  • Shannon Nunn, managing director, TBWA\Chiat\Day NY
  • Drew Panayiotou, global chief marketing officer, Pfizer
  • Chris Paquette, founder and CEO, DeepIntent
  • Elliott Pettit, senior director of retention and brand, USTA
  • Joy Robins, global chief advertising officer, The New York Times
  • Lisa Roath, evp and chief marketing officer, Target
  • Andrew Springate, chief marketing officer, Keurig Dr Pepper
  • Neal Zuckerman, managing director and senior partner, Boston Consulting Group

“The Ad Council’s board of directors is comprised of some of the most passionate leaders in their industries and their commitment to driving positive change helps us move the needle on America’s most pressing issues at an unprecedented scale,” said Lisa Sherman, president and CEO of the Ad Council in a statement. “I am so honored to welcome our new members and work even closer with Rita and Kirk to create lasting change that will help people across the country.”

The Ad Council also added three new members to its Leadership Council, which consists of some of the best leaders and innovators in media, tech, marketing, and advertising. Leadership Council members leverage their companies’ reach and resources to activate campaigns and share key learnings, insights, and capabilities in support of the Ad Council’s work to address the country’s most critical social issues.

New members of the Ad Council Leadership Council include:

  • Michael Benedek, president and CEO, Datonics
  • Katie Klumper, CEO and founder, Black Glass
  • Amanda Tolleson, global chief marketing officer, WeightWatchers