Meet the 3 Newest Members to The American Marketing Association’s Marketing Hall of Fame

Lee Clow, Seth Godin and Esther Lee join a long list of stars

All three marketers will be honored at a special event held at R/GA's New York offices. Photos courtesy of American Marketing Association
Headshot of Katie Richards

The American Marketing Association New York will induct three new members into its marketing hall of fame on May 17.

The newest members of the hall of fame include Lee Clow, chairman of TBWA\Media Arts Lab and director of Media Arts, TBWA\Worldwide, Esther Lee, evp and global CMO of MetLife, Inc. and Seth Godin, speaker and bestselling author. All three marketers will be honored at a special event, held at R/GA’s New York offices.

“We established the Marketing Hall of Fame to recognize our most admired colleagues for the many brilliant ways they have advanced our profession. It’s an honor for us to celebrate the extraordinary contributions of Esther Lee, Lee Clow and Seth Godin, all of whom truly represent the pinnacle of leadership and innovation in our field,” Robert Kahn, AMA NY president and svp of business development at Elateral. Kahn also serves as the Marketing Hall of Fame committee co-chair.

Each year, the AMA puts out an open call for nominations. After receiving roughly 200 names, the AMA New York’s Marketing Hall of Fame committee narrows down those choices to a list of 50 names. After a batch of 200 senior marketing and agency executives narrow those 50 names down, a panel of judges select the final three names.

“We are very proud that the Marketing Hall of Fame has become one of the premier events in the marketing community, and once again, we have a star-studded list of extraordinary talents to celebrate. It will be inspiring to have these legendary marketing luminaries all on stage for one special evening,” Joanna Seddon, Marketing Hall of Fame committee co-chair and president, global brand consulting at OgilvyRED, said.

Former inductees to the AMA Hall of Fame include Facebook vp and CMO Gary Briggs, IBM svp of marketing Jon Iwata, R/GA founder, CEO and chairman Bob Greenberg, Ogilvy & Mather chairman emeritus Shelly Lazarus and Patagonia founder Yvon Chouinard.

@ktjrichards Katie Richards is a staff writer for Adweek.