How Cable News Networks Are Covering the EU Referendum

By Mark Joyella Comment

Cable news will shift some of its political focus to Europe Thursday as voters in the U.K. decide whether or not to leave Europe, in the EU referendum known as “Brexit.”

CNBC will begin coverage during Worldwide Exchange (5 a.m. ET), which is live in London this week, with Sara Eisen and Wilfred Frost. Frost will focus on the latest polling, and Eisen will cover the impact of the vote on trade, stocks, currencies and economies. Kayla Tausche will report on plans for major banks should the referendum pass.

At 1 p.m. ET, chief international correspondent Michelle Caruso-Cabrera will co-anchor Power Lunch from London.

In the U.S., Kate Kelly, Eric Chemi, and Seema Mody will cover hedge funds, social media and which companies are most at risk–and most insulated–from the U.K.’s decision.

CNN will have coverage from Nima Elbagir in North London, Fred Pleitgen covering the Leave campaign, Phil Black in Glasgow, Will Ripley in Paris, Anika Shubert in Berlin, Erin McLaughlin in Brussels, and Ivan Watson in Hong Kong.

At CNN International, the network will be in rolling coverage as soon as the polls close until a result is called. Richard Quest and Hala Gorani will anchor from CNN’s London bureau, Christiane Amanpour will be at Westminster, and Max Foster, Nic Robertson and Clarissa Ward will be at Downing Street.

CNN also promises its “Brexit camper van,” which has toured Europe with Richard Quest over the last week, will play a role in Thursday’s coverage.

Fox News Channel, in addition to coverage throughout the day Thursday, will produce a special live program, Brexit Results, on Friday morning from 3 a.m.-5 a.m. ET, anchored by Leland Vitter and Abby Huntsman.

FNC will break into programming throughout the overnight hours with the latest on the vote results.

Fox Business Network will devote special coverage beginning with a two-hour edition of Lou Dobbs Tonight at 7 p.m. ET, followed by Trish Regan Intel from 9-11 p.m.

The network will turn to Stuart Varney and a special edition of Varney & Co at 11 p.m. ET, while Cheryl Casone anchors overnight coverage starting at 1 a.m. ET. FBN:AM will start at 4 a.m.

All week, Charlie Gasparino and Ashley Webster have been reporting on Brexit from London.

Bloomberg TV is providing live reports from 10 locations including London, Edinburgh, Brussels, Berlin, Paris, Zurich, Madrid, Rome, Copenhagen and from across the U.S., with anchors Tom Keene, Michael McKee, Francine Lacqia and Jonathan Ferro in London.

Here’s Bloomberg’s breakdown on how the timing of the Brexit vote should play out:

10:00 PM BST/ 5:00 PM
EDT / 5:00 AM HKT– Polling stations close

12:00 AM BST / 7:00 PM
EDT / 7:00 AM HKT– First results in

2:00 AM BST / 9:00 PM
EDT / 9:00 AM HKT – About 40 results are scheduled to be in

3:00 AM BST / 10:00 PM
EDT / 10:00 AM HKT – More than one third of results in

4:00 AM BST / 11:00 AM
EDT / 11:00 PM HKT– The busiest time – nearly 100 counts scheduled to be completed

7:00 AM BST / 2:00 AM
EDT / 2:00 PM HKT– The last three scheduled results in

Comments

Advertisement
Advertisement