Amanpour, Crowley, Maddow Honored

By Chris Ariens Comment

CNN’s Christiane Amanpour and Candy Crowley and MSNBC’s Rachel Maddow are among the honorees of the Women’s Media Center’s first annual WMC Media Awards.

The ceremony will be held June 17 at the Sackler Foundation in New York. WMC was founded in 2005 by Gloria Steinem, Jane Fonda and Robin Morgan.

More in the press release after the jump..

The Women’s Media Center Announces First Annual Media Awards

Honorees Include Rebecca Traister, Bonnie Erbe, Rachel Maddow, Abigail Disney, Pam Spaulding, Gini Reticker, Candy Crowley & More

May 19, 2009 (New York, NY) – The Women’s Media Center (WMC) today announces the slate of honorees for its first annual WMC Media Awards. Honorees include Tina Fey, Helene Cooper, Rachel Maddow, Dolly Parton, Christiane Amanpour and more; complete list below. The awards will take place at an evening cocktail party hosted by WMC co-founder Gloria Steinem.

“The Women’s Media Center has been working for the last four years to make women more visible and powerful in the media,” said WMC president Carol Jenkins. “Now, with our first awards ceremony, we have a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge some of the women who are making a difference in media – and to offer our criticism for some of the year’s most shameful media moments.”

In addition to the honorees, the WMC Media Awards will also note some of the year’s most sexist media moments, including the Presidential debate commission’s decision not to have women as moderators of the recent Presidential debates; media executives for failing to create a diverse White House press corps, and the networks for the lack of diversity among the hosts of the Sunday morning pundit shows.

The Women’s Media Center was founded in 2005 by Gloria Steinem, Jane Fonda and Robin Morgan. The WMC promotes women in the media in four ways: through our media advocacy initiatives, original media, top-notch media training program, and through, our online database of 500+ women experts, used by hundreds of journalists every day.

Honorees and attendance are still being confirmed. The WMC will send updated information closer to event date. The roster of honorees includes:
Print and Broadcast Journalists:
Christiane Amanpour (CNN)
Helene Cooper (New York Times)
Candy Crowley (CNN)

Online Journalists:
Pam Spaulding (Pam’s House Blend)
Rebecca Traister (

Broadcast Hosts:
Bonnie Erbe (To The Contrary)
Rachel Maddow (The Rachel Maddow Show)

Documentary Film:
Abigail Disney & Gini Reticker (Pray The Devil Back To Hell)

Lynn Nottage (Ruined)
Dolly Parton (9-5, the musical)

Tina Fey (30 Rock)

The WMC’s first annual Media Awards will be held at 6:30 p.m. at the Sackler Foundation in NYC on June 17th.